Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Emulsifier number 471- halal or haram?


9 replies to this topic

#1 sadiqqa

sadiqqa
  • Sisters
  • 769 posts

Posted 03 July 2003 - 09:28 PM

salam alaykom wr wb,

i have came across many people who think that the emulsifier number 471 is not halal......most food products has that number...so whats in that number? any one have any ideas?
  • 0
remeber that whatever i write, Allah swt knows best!
May Allah swt forgive us and grant us Jannah al firdous! Ameen!

Our Lord! Grant us good in this world and good in the life to come and keep us safe from the torment of the Fire (2:201) ..Ameen!

#2

  • Guests

Posted 03 July 2003 - 10:30 PM

Check the Halal Guide Line.

They have a whole list with products and their numbers.

Inshallah I'd try to get the details ASAP.

#3

  • Guests

Posted 03 July 2003 - 10:38 PM

http://www.halalhelpline.org/

Email: info@HalalHelpLine.org
Mohamed El-Mouelhy
Principal Consultant

Send'em an email and ask for the guide...

#4

  • Guests

Posted 03 July 2003 - 10:43 PM

Check the following sites as well :

http://www.islam-aus...al/enumbers.htm

http://www.islam-aus.....ood Guide.rtf

#5 sadiqqa

sadiqqa
  • Sisters
  • 769 posts

Posted 04 July 2003 - 05:37 PM

salam alaykom warhmatallah wabrakato,

Jazka Allah kheirahhhhh:)
  • 0
remeber that whatever i write, Allah swt knows best!
May Allah swt forgive us and grant us Jannah al firdous! Ameen!

Our Lord! Grant us good in this world and good in the life to come and keep us safe from the torment of the Fire (2:201) ..Ameen!

#6 WildFlower

WildFlower
  • Members
  • 1,349 posts

Posted 14 December 2010 - 09:28 PM

If it isn't 470, it's 471- this additive just keeps showing up in every edible item I want to purchase. It's really wearing my patience thin.
I wish I didn't have to rely on supermarket products :(
  • 0

#7 Sam

Sam
  • Former Member
  • 19,074 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 12:02 AM

471 may or may not be animal based... the only way to know is to contact the manufacturer.

Best if you can stay away from foods with additives all together, insha'Allah. If you resolve to cut processed foods out of your diet, you'll be 90% of the way there.
  • 0
Israel's strategy: "The beatings will continue until morale improves"

#8 WildFlower

WildFlower
  • Members
  • 1,349 posts

Posted 16 December 2010 - 07:40 PM

Unless it's something I desperately need (read: want :P ), it's easier to leave it on the shelf rather than contact the manufacturer. There are just way to many food items which contain it.
JazakAllah Khair for the advice Sam :) This may be the turning point lol.
  • 0

#9 Chisti

Chisti
  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 10:28 AM

Unless it's something I desperately need (read: want :P ), it's easier to leave it on the shelf rather than contact the manufacturer. There are just way to many food items which contain it.
JazakAllah Khair for the advice Sam :) This may be the turning point lol.


E471 can be both animal or non animal based,if the food product carries the "suitable for vegetarians" label then its non animal based and hence suitable for an halal diet,if it doesn't then avoid eating it as its almost certainly from an animal source.
  • 0

#10 WildFlower

WildFlower
  • Members
  • 1,349 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 01:24 PM

if the food product carries the "suitable for vegetarians" label then its non animal based and hence suitable for an halal diet


Thanks Chisti :)
  • 0



Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users